A guide to the works of English author Herbert Ernest Bates (1905-1974).

Whether you are a long-term fan of Bates or are just discovering him, this site exists to enrich and expand your knowledge and appreciation of a very fine twentieth-century author.

The Classics:

Darling The Darling Buds of May and other Larkin novels

My Uncle Silas and other Silas stories

Fair Stood the Wind for France and other WW2 novels

Through the Woods and other nature writing